Late 1970's Photos

Re: Late 1970's Photos

Found another shot of that green Electra at Brighton '79 - now I see that it is from the french club HDC Les Morfals, not sure if they are still around - yet another FLH behind! scan0034.jpg

Got some of Geoff "Captain Confusion" Bowering's photos to scan, found some more 1979 Brighton Super Rally - again more Electras, including that crazy one that must have been the most photographed machine there.scan0003.jpgscan0004.jpg

Some old faces (Tony Wade, Bob Hammer, Noddy Farrell, Dave Parker and (??can't make name come..) also at '79 SR. The colourful Duo I am pretty certain belonged to Albert Emmett. The wheel disc was, think he said, from an industrial washing machine?scan0001.jpgscan0006.jpgscan0007.jpg

The colourful Duo I am pretty certain belonged to Albert Emmett. The wheel disc was, think he said, from an industrial washing machine?View attachment 31638

It was indeed Paul. Albert was a very clever bloke (a master plumber by trade) and this is how he told it to me. He'd been to Fred Warr's and seen one of Fred's bikes with the "beauty trims" common in the 1950's; Albert asked Fred to get him some and Fred wouldn't play ball. Albert's revenge was to fabricate the ones in the picture, and then tell everyone that he'd bought them from Fred, giving out a spurious part number. Goes without saying that Fred got a fair number of pointless phone calls on the subject, i can only imagine what he said about Albert afterwards!

........Albert's revenge was to fabricate the ones in the picture, and then tell everyone that he'd bought them from Fred, giving out a spurious part number. Goes without saying that Fred got a fair number of pointless phone calls on the subject,...........!

well, that certainly conforms to my idea of a tasty prank :v_funny: