Shovel Wide Glide

Army

Club Member
So I have the chance to purchase a 1980 Shovel wide glide but can someone tell me if there is a huge difference in the seat height compared with a twin cam Wide glide. The twin cam fits me like a glove, I'm 6ft 1" but I think the shovel might be a lot smaller

A friend of mine has one and he says that the standard forwards are awkward, if that makes sense. I think it would be a good idea to try before you buy.

Someone said if your tall and long legged the shovel wide glide can be more comfortable. I've owned and rode a few twin cam wide glides and they seem to be a bike that suits a tall rider

I wouldn't care too much about the seat height, if it's in good original condition, snap it up:D.
It's in superb condition, I think its the unknown as I've never owned a Shovel, I'm led to believe the last couple of years were the best Shovel but I have no knowledge of them so I cannot comment

Early "original" Wide Glides are sought after. Have it. They take a little bit of maintenance like say an old brit but I suspect it won't be your daily ride, just turn up at the local Harley meet and draw a crowd :cool:.

It might mean my chop goes on the market, I'm just about finished it and it will look stunning but it might be sold to finance the Shovel and T160

The most common lament I've heard about Shovels is, "I wish I'd never sold my old Shovelhead."
If you've got the chance to own a 1980 FXWG (in m.o.l. all original shape)..... well, it isn't a buy you'd ever regret..........
and, as you say, you've never owned (or been owned by) a Shovelhead, what a splendid opprotunity is before you......