83 EVO FLHT questions

Deanokidd

Club Member
Evening everyone!

Firstly apologies if I have posted in the wrong place.

I have received my first Harley today a 83 EVO FLHT and I have some questions, although I have been riding for 23 years I am completely new to Harley’s.

First question, the side panniers require new locks as the keys are missing maybe even complete latches. They are the ones fitted in the rear indicator housing, any ideas where I would get some from?

Second question, the feed from the fuel tap to the carb runs between the V with no clamp is this normal?

Thank you in advance for your help. 😊

I can't answer your first question but someone will be along soon I am sure.
I have never seen a fuel line clamped between the Cylinders although I have never looked closely. As far as I know they just hang there. scratch_head

The fuel line from tap to carb sometimes passes through a wire loop to prevent it from resting against the hot cyliders. Not always necessary but depends on how the fuel line sits without been retained. Different beast I know but my Shovel had the wire loop fixed under one of the carb to manifold mounting bolts. It's the sort of thing you can easily make and fit. It's out of view so doesn't need to be fancy.
Hope this helps.

Cheers, she needs some tidying up but she starts and rides I gave £3800 including delivery not sure if that’s good but it was in budget 😂😂
520a3c88-2bf5-4d58-aacf-61a50a2daa79.jpeg

Re the keys, a Harley dealer might supply them on production of the V5C - assuming they are original! Be prepared to sell the house, wife and kids though...

Evening everyone!

Firstly apologies if I have posted in the wrong place.

I have received my first Harley today a 83 EVO FLHT and I have some questions, although I have been riding for 23 years I am completely new to Harley’s.