Should I Buy A Vrod??

E

evo12c

Hope someone can help me make my mind up, I am a bike mechanic working on a variety of bikes mainly BMW's ,but not harleys. I have always owned and loved my various harleys, Sportster, roadking and now a fatboy. I'm not sure if it's because I am on modern BMW and Jap bikes with modern technology but I am craving more power and smoother power at that, my fatboy is anything but stock nut I need more. I am considering a VRod and believe the horsepower figures are what I am looking for but I carry the mrs alot and the pillion riding position does not look good, the foot pegs look high I aint botherd about buying another seat but the riding position doesn't look good for the pillion. anyone got any ideas how I can get around this, or should I stray and buy a BMW or worse a riceburner.
andy!!

Re: Should I Buy A Vrod??

Which V-Rod have you been looking at? Foot pegs are different on different models. Original seats on V-Rods are not good for pillions, but there are a variety of seats you can get from H-D as well as after-market which are more suitable for pillion. Pillion foot-pegs can be easily moved if they are not in a comfortable position.

Personally, no-one rides on my V-Rod but me,:cool:

I own a Vrod had quite afew harleys now,but the vrod is not like any other harley,it is more like a jap bike.you would not have to repair it or even can any tools with you.They do not have the bottom end torque of say a Fat Boy ect,very difficalt to carry any luggage,the rear suspension is very poor and will bottem out with any weight on.The engine is very powerfull just get used to using a few more revs than the air cooled motors.